Welcome to the gaming and graphic novel world! (And other fun stuff!)

I’ll be discussing videogames; both in my personal and library experience.  I also am a huge fan of graphic novels, manga, anime and books in general.

To begin with, let’s discuss the New 52 in the DC Universe.  I haven’t picked up any yet, I am waiting for the trades to come out.  But I have been following reviews, summaries, and conversations about it.

As I haven’t read it myself yet, I can’t fairly judge it.  But I can tell you that I am not happy about it.  One of my favorite characters is Wonder Woman.  J. Michael Straczynski had just rebooted the character, complete with new costume, before the launch of the New 52.

I liked it.  Why they totally had to throw it out just to reboot it again a few months later is beyond me. And aggravating, at best.  Catwoman is another character that I have followed over the last few years.  As if it wasn’t enough to trash the character by making her completely confused as to whether she was a “hero” or “villian”, they have made the first few issues completely full of trash as well.  Let’s just call it a “scene” between Batman and Catwoman presented right away, and graphically presented, has completely turned me from wanting to read this.

But again, I will reserve judgment for when I read it myself.

~ by LibraryGamer2979 on October 25, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
