G4 No More

For the last 10 years, G4 has been supplying us with the latest news on gaming, comics, technology, and more.  The show such as “Attack of the Show” and “X-Play”, were unique to the channel, and I have enjoyed them over the last several years that the channel has been available in my neck of the woods.

Now, they are becoming the “Esquire Channel”. In the words of Queen Victoria, “We are not amused”.  In fact, I am almost insulted.  I am a female gamer, and I feel that by remaking the channel into a milder version of “GQ”, we are being told that female gamers don’t count.  I am not a feminist by any means, but I think that this is a slap in the face, not only to “girl gamers”, but to the gaming industry as a whole.

I do subscribe to “Game Informer”, but I don’t have a lot of time to flip through the magazine, and there is something about putting personalities to reviewers that helps me pay more attention.  The game demos were great, even if it was a terrible game, or something that I was not interested in.

Besides the gaming aspect, the coverage of comicons were awesome. Although Sara Jean Underwood grated my nerves, the coverage was always different with each individual, and the cosplaying was so much fun to watch.

Where is Ninja Warrior going to go? Although I didn’t care too much for American Ninja Warrior, the original was always airing, and they were still doing original contests.

That’s my take on the matter. Although I doubt it, I hope that someone out there will take up the challenge of replacing this favorite channel of mine.

~ by LibraryGamer2979 on January 10, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
