Hudson Valley Comic Con 2016

I attended the first ever HVCC in Poughkeepsie on May 7-8. It was pretty cool! Parking was awful, and I’m hoping that next year that they will switch venues. Since it was the first, I’m sure that they didn’t want to rent something large and lose money on it, so I’m holding out that they will book something like the Mid-Hudson Civic Center next year.

We got there around noon on Saturday, only to be told that there was no more parking available and that we had to go to the train station to catch a shuttle bus. We lost about 2 hours doing that, and missed the Doctor Who panel that I wanted to see.

We did arrive just in time to see the panel with Ernie Hudson, of “Ghostbusters” fame. He was hysterical. I got the chance to meet him on Sunday, with a photo op, and he was very sweet.

I also met GiGi Edgley, of “FarScape”. She was fantastic. Her panel was small, so she had us get in a circle, and it was a brilliant hour of Q&A up close, and it was awesome listening to her experiences. I met her afterwards, with a photo session, and she was so funny.

I’m usually pretty introverted, but I had a great time meeting these fantastic people, seeing replicas of cars like the Ghostbusters, Kit, Dukes of Hazzard, the Batmobile, and the Mystery Machine.

I’m looking forward to attending next year.

Unfortunately, I can’t attend Awesome-Com this year, which is a shame since Peter Capaldi and Jenna Coleman are among the guests this year. For those who can attend, I hope that you have a great time.

~ by JadeRaven on May 26, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
